9.4 Sep 17 Bleat

Post date: Jan 06, 2012 12:36:17 AM

Timely Reminders:

No Number - No Start!: You must wear your number at registration and while racing.

Found at Stromlo last Tuesday (11 Oct.): bidon sized screw top container with tube, levers and a Topeak tool was left at Stromlo on Tue evening (11 Oct). Owner should contact Graham Hendrie (web@actvets.cc ) who will take it to the crit tomorrow (18 Oct).

Racing This Week:

Tuesday, 18 October: Stromlo Criteriums (Week 3) from 5:45pm

Where: Stromlo Forest Park Circuit.

When (approximate start and race times): G at 5:45 for 15 min; C/D at 6:00 for 30 min; E/F at 6:35 for 25 min; A/B at 7:105 for 35 min. Registration at least 15 minutes before your scheduled start time, wearing your registered number. NO NUMBER; NO START!

Race Director: Christophe Barberet

Contact: christophe.barberet@centrelink.gov.au; tel. 6296 6079

Help Needed: Christophe will need at least one volunteer to assist at the chute.

Thursday, 20 October: Queanbeyan Track Racing

Where: Queanbeyan Park

When: Warm up from 5:30 pm; first race at 6:00 pm.

Scratch races, two lap handicap, derny races and Italian pursuits. Road and track bikes welcome.


Saturday, 22 October : Lookout Hill M & H Age Standard Time Trial

Where: Lookout Hill car park.

Registration: From 12:45 to 1:15, wearing your registered number. No number - no start!

When: From 1:30 pm, starting in order of registration.

Race Description: Age Standard Time Trial.

Course: Lookout Hill - Tharwa Short Turn - Pt Hut Turn - Finish at Lookout Hill.

Race Distance: 19.5 km for all competitors.

Race Director: Jan Koehler

Contact: jan.koehler@netspeed.com.au, (02) 6291 0079

Recent Events:

Old Federal Highway Handicap (46K), Saturday 15/10/11: A fine and sunny afternoon enticed 45 starters to try their luck in a handicap. Bruce Jones performed yet another gladiatorial feat, holding a rampaging B grade pack at bay to win alone and unassisted. The poursuivants, survivors from an original pack of 12, comprised a starry cast of Francois Mossard, Reinhard Mauch, Michael Carr, Jason Quayle and Nick Boylan. But Bruce toughed it out and survived their courageous but too tardy enterprise. ( There were apparently no A grade finishers!)

So much for the gents. If there there had been a ladies' subdivision, its victor would have been Sue Frost who was not alone in F grade but also proved her toughness to finish well clear of Angie Wren, Vanessa Goodspeed and Linda Stals.

Many thanks to Paul Angelatos and his five assistants for a safe but exciting event. The full result sheet can be viewed via http://rms.actvets.cc/

Stromlo Crits Tuesday 11/10/11: Many thanks to Bryan McGlynn and Henry Beaverstock for managing the racing and the big turnout of 79 starters. A grade was an especially large group with 20 riders in pursuit of Paul Scherl. Other winners included a very fit Rob Diamond, an in-form Bruce Jones, the unstoppable Vince Dunn, newcomer Brendan Byatt, Bob Cruikshank and Johan Coetzer. See the full results at http://rms.actvets.cc/

Australian Masters Games, Adelaide 9 to 14 October: Two Medals for Reinhard Mauch

Congratulations to Reinhard Mauch who convincingly won his age division (Cat. 7 60-64) in the Road Time Trial by almost two minutes over second-placed Peter Bertelsen of Victoria. In third place, another two minutes in arrears, was Darryl Miller of Western Australia. Reinhard's performance confirmed his recent success in this discipline in our own events. In the Cat.7 Road Race, Peter Bertelsen turned the tables on Reinhard who had to be content with second,ahead of Ron Hickson of Queensland in third place. Congratulations are also due to Patrick McNamara who finished fifth in his division (Cat;6, 55-59) of the Road Race.

Other Results: http://australianmastersgames.com.au/extra.asp?id=187

Directing This Month?: Please Confirm

Please check the list below and notify Graham (webmaster@actvets.cc) if you are unable to meet your obligations or provide a substitute director in your absence.

Christophe Barberet (Stromlo Tuesday 18 Oct.)

Jan Koehler (Lookout Hill Saturday 22 Oct.)

Lee Hopson (Stromlo Tuesday 25 Oct.)

John Thornton (Stromlo Saturday 29 Oct)

Michael Blyth (Stromlo 1 November)