1.1 Jan 2 Bleat

Post date: Jan 06, 2012 12:49:58 AM


Annual Memberships: Members who are now renewing their memberships by EFT must complete and sign a 2012 membership form and either email the form to treasurer@actvets.cc, mail or bring along to an event. The disclaimer on our membership form has been amended in accordance with advice from the AVCC and the insurer. A 2012 licence will not be issued to renewing club members until a 2012 membership form has been received by the club. Details of this change can be found at http://www.actvets.cc/membership

Eligibility to Race on 3 January, 2012: If you are not financial when racing resumes on 3/1/12, you will not be permitted to race without paying first. Committee members will have their lists on hand and will be checking each entrant's status at registration. If you are paying by EFT, you must attach a hard copy of the payment to your signed membership form.

2012 Calendar Adjustments: (a) 21 January, Old Federal Hwy event is cancelled for lack of road approvals; (b) 12 February, Bega event postponed. Substitute events may be inserted, probably at Stromlo Park.

Festive Season Grade Changes: The Handicapper would like to wish all club members a Merry Christmas.The following riders have been very good and have been given a present -

David Gould 111 Criterium F;

Bryan Holloway 50 Criterium A;

Brendan Byatt 511 Criterium A.


Tuesday, 3 January: Stromlo Crits from 5:45pm.

Where: Stromlo Forest Park Circuit.

Sign on: 15 mins before your grade's scheduled start time wearing your registered number. NO NUMBER; NO START!

When (approximate start and race times): G at 5:45pm for 20 min; AB at 6:10 for 35 mins; CD at 6:50 for 30 mins; EF at 7:25pm for 25 mins.

Event Description: Stromlo Graded Criteriums

Race Director: Kim Malcolm

Contact: jakmalco@tpg.com.au, 62317973

Help Needed: Kim will need at least one volunteer to assist at the chute.

Saturday, 7 January 5:00pm: Stromlo Twilight Series

Where: Stromlo Forest Park

When: Sign on by 4:45 pm wearing your registered number. NO NUMBER; NO START!

Course: Stromlo to top of 'three sisters'; U-turn back to roundabout at entrance to SFP; back to top of sisters; U-turn to finish on Criterium Circuit.

Race Distance: approx 37 km for all grades

Race Director: Ross Macpherson

Contact: falchoon351@hotmail.com; tel. 62554365


Stomlo Crits, 20 December 2011.

Another huge field of 98 competitors contested the last Vets' race of the year. D grade was once again the largest bunch with 22, which allowed Cath Kelleher to defeat 21 hopefuls, and prove her inaugural and very impressive performance at the Wheel Race no fluke. In E grade, Kelvin Alley broke through for his first win at Stromlo, ahead of David Gunther and 15 others. Bryan Holloway out-sprinted B grade and was rewarded with the ultimate promotion (see above). There are plenty of new faces in A grade, but the victor this time was Felix Pirie, an old hand who won for the first time since late July. Jeremy Gilman-Wells was second ahead of the much improved Robert Langridge. David Medlock beat Bruce Goodspeed and Brad Tuohy over the line in C, while Robert Brooks defeated Dennis Puniard in F, and Tielei Wang made it two wins in the same night for the ladies, leading Mick Donaldson and G grade home. Other prominent ladies were Janine Ridsdale, who foolishly finished in front of the Handicapper in B grade, Sue Powell in C, Linda Banks in D, Angela Wren in E and Angelika Mauch in G.

After the traditional Christmas truce, hostilities recommence tomorrow evening at 5:45 pm precisely. Qbn track racers will have to wait until next week.

Directing This Month?

See website for list of future events and allocated race directors. http://rms.actvets.cc/

Please notify James Jordan (handicapper@actvets.cc) if you are unable to meet your obligations or provide a substitute director in your absence. If you are unable to direct for any reason please try to make alternative arrangements by swapping with other allocated Directors. If you cannot make a swap please give us at least a week's notice so we can call for a replacement in a timely fashion.

Current List to Jan 31:

Bruce Luckham (20/12/11)

Christmas/New Year: No scheduled races

Kim Malcolm (3/1/12)

Ross McPherson (7/1/12)

Steve Jones (10/1/12)

Kirsti McVay (17/1/12)

Alain Menager (24/1/12)

Francoise Mossard (31/1/12)


Previous messages can be found at http://groups.google.com/group/actvcc_races

Also checkout the club website at www.actvets.cc