1.3 Jan 16 Bleat

Post date: Jan 16, 2012 12:50:37 PM


AGM Next Month: Have you considered nominating for the 2012/13 ACTVCC Committee? Download a nomination form from http://www.actvets.cc/files/memberfiles

Scott Sparkman needs to swap his RD duty on 29 January: "I am unable to race direct the ITT on the 29/12 due to work. I am

looking for a swap or replacement for that race. I am more than happy to direct another when available. If anyone can step up or swap please contact me on 0412 240 791 or at fdr.cycling@gmail.com"

Eligibility to Race in January, 2012: If you are not financial when racing resumes on 3/1/12, you will not be permitted to race without paying first. Committee members will have their lists on hand and will be checking each entrant's status at registration. If you are paying by EFT, you must attach a hard copy of the payment to your signed membership form.


Tuesday, 17 January: Stromlo Crits from 5:45pm.

Where: Stromlo Forest Park Circuit.

Sign on: 15 mins before your grade's scheduled start time wearing your registered number. NO NUMBER; NO START!

When (approximate start and race times): G at 5:45 for 20min; CD at 6:10 for 30min; EF at 6:45 for 25min; AB at 7:15 for 35min.

Event Description: Stromlo Graded Criteriums

Race Director: Kirsti McVay

Contact: kirsti.mcvay@daff.gov.au; tel. (02) 6231 7523

Help Needed: Kirsti will need at least one volunteer to assist at the chute.

Thursday, 19 January: Queanbeyan Track Racing at 6:00 pm

Where: Queanbeyan Park

When: Warm up from 5:30 pm; first race at 6:00 pm.

Scratch races, two lap handicap, derny races and Italian pursuits. Road and track bikes welcome.

Contact: track@actvets.cc

As always results can be found on the rms and more detail at http://www.actvets.cc/track/tracknews

Sunday, 22 January from 8:00am: Stromlo Graded Teams Race

Where: Stromlo Forest Park - Criterium track

When: Sign on up to 15 mins before your grade's scheduled start time, wearing your registered number. NO NUMBER; NO START!

Start Times: A & B at 8:00am for 40 mins + 2; C & D at 8:50 for 30mins + 2; E, F & G at 9:30 for 25 mins + 2.

Provisional Race Format: Teams of four riders (designated by coloured ribbons distributed at the registration desk) will race for points in both primes and the final lap sprint. Points awarded for primes: 3; 2; 1. Points for final sprint 5; 4; 3; 2; 1. Each grade will have at least 3 primes before the final lap. Further details TBN on the day.

Race Director: Bill Rawlinson

Contact: rawlinsonbill@hotmail.com; tel. 62915713

Help Needed on Sunday: Bill will need at least 2 assistants to help with points scoring and the finish chute. Please contact him early this week to make is job easier and more predictable.


Stromlo Crits, 10 January 2012.

A neat 100 turned out this time to race in mostly crowded fields. In A grade the old firm of Ian Downing and Paul Connor fought out the finish, but they now have the sleek and swift Trevor Rix to keep them honest. Michael Blyth returned to racing with a win in B, over John Thorn and the still improving Rohan Verco. After three minor placings in recent weeks, Brad Tuohy finally broke through for a well-earned win in C grade, over Ross Robinson and Ashley Sked. In D grade Peter Harding resumed his return to competitive form, but had to be satisfied with third pace behind Ben Vagnarelli and newcomer Andrew Chamberlain. In E Kelvin Alley won again from Bob Perkins and Brian Chugg, and Dennis Puniard maintained his winning form in F, ahead of Jim Cruden and Patrick Bouquiaux. Caryn Scott, at her first start with the Vets, won G grade for the ladies ahead of the evergreen Lindsay Graham and Angelika Mauch. Other successful ladies amongst the points were Pauline Thorn in F and Helen King in G.

Many thanks again to race director Steve Jones, supported Henry Beaverstock, for successfully managing this event.

Queanbeyan Track Events, Thursday 12 January, 2012.

The biggest field of the evening took their marks for the Trackies' 2 lap handicap, and it was won from 70m by Ray Gorrell, who defeated Anton Wurzer from 50m and Jim Davey, also from 70m. Robert Brooks (70m) defeated Kelvin Ally (40m) and Fiona Mavris (90m) in the Roadies' version of this event. Many thanks to Allan Bontjer and Graeme O'Neill for directing all events on the program.

Tidbinbilla Graded Scratch, Sunday 15 January, 2012.

A select group of 45 turned up in relatively cool (some of us remember the morning it was around 40 degrees) and rather gloomy conditions to honour the Tidbinbilla tradition. Janine Ridsdale, often overshadowed on the crit circuit, shone on the open road and gave the boys of C grade a dancing lesson over hill and dale. David Rae also thrived on undulating terrain, finishing 13 secs. ahead of the ever reliable Christophe Barberet and the man-of-iron, Reinhard Mauch in A grade. Alex O'Shea made amends for his previous week's defeat by winning D grade from Kim Malcolm in the closest finish of the day. In the same bunch Lee Sheather, Kirsti McVay and Vanessa Goodspeed toughed it out and thus filled the placings in the unofficial Ladies' division.

Brendan Byatt comfortably won B grade yet again, this time from Mark Vroomans and a very closely matched bunch of poursuivants. In F grade the result of last week was reversed with Graham Hendrie ahead of Dennis Puniard, and with Liz Lowe making it a threesome this time. Returning to G grade, David Gould returned to winning - by almost a full minute; E grade was a compact group, but Dale Teddy, after a year's absence, waltzed in by almost three minutes.

Our many thanks are due to race director Francios Mossard, and his assistants, Richard Bourne, Chris Short and James Meredith.

Full results for all events are, as usual, available at http://rms.actvets.cc/

Directing This Month?

See our website for list of future events and allocated race directors. http://rms.actvets.cc/

Please notify James Jordan (handicapper@actvets.cc) if you are unable to meet your obligations or provide a substitute director in your absence. If you are unable to direct for any reason please try to make alternative arrangements by swapping with other allocated Directors. If you cannot make a swap please give us at least a week's notice so we can call for a replacement in a timely fashion.

Current List to Feb 16:

Kirsti McVay (17/1/12)

Bill Rawlinson (22/1/12)

Alain Menager (24/1/12)

Scott Sparkman (29/1/12)

Paul Newham (31/1/12)

Ross Robinson (5/2/12)

Chris Nolan (7/2/12)

Steve Sims (12/2/12)

Alex O'Shea (16/2/12


Previous messages can be found at http://groups.google.com/group/actvcc_races

Also checkout the club website at www.actvets.cc


Previous messages can be found at http://groups.google.com/group/actvcc_races

Also checkout the club website at www.actvets.cc