z11.4 Nov 26 Bleat

Post date: Nov 26, 2012 9:43:13 AM

Hello Vets,

In this issue of The Bleat;

· Registration Information for 2013

· Racing this Week

· Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton.

2013 Registration:

The National AVCC online registration system (IMG) is now available to process renewals and new memberships for 2013. No membership details have been loaded into the new system. You will need to enter all your personal information this year. Next year, you will be able to use your login so you won’t have to re-enter your details.

To register, use the following steps;

· Go to the website: https://memberdesq.imgstg.com/index.cfm?OrgID=10244

· Select ‘New Registration

· Select the State and Club, then press ‘Next >>

· Select the membership type, then press ‘Next >>

· Agree the Terms and Conditions, then press ‘Next >>

· Enter your personal details, then press ‘Next >>

· After a couple of confirmation pages, Enter your credit card details (Visa or Mastercard) then ‘Submit Payment’.

You will then receive Emails confirming details about your registration and providing you with a logon and password that you can use to update your details in future. Note that once you have registered, you can change your logon name and password to something a bit easier to remember.

It is no longer is it possible to join the club with cash/cheque at race registration or using the EFT option prior to race registration. Please note that new members will also need to join using the online registration system prior to commencing racing.

Every endeavour will be made to download payment information into our race management system before race days but sometimes this may not be possible. Therefore, if a new member (from 27 November) or renewing member (from 1 January) pays online just before race day, then proof of payment must be produced at registration before being allowed to enter the race to ensure that insurance cover has been activated. In this case, please bring along a printed copy of the confirmation Email to confirm registration.

2013 Registration:

For any new members, who had signed up since 1 October using the old payment arrangements, your details will be uploaded into the new system manually. You do not need to register online.

If you have any questions or difficulties with registration please contact: membership@actvets.cc


Tuesday, 27th November: Stromlo Criterium

Where: Stromlo Forrest Park

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description: G Grade@ 5:45 - 13min + 2 laps; E/F Grade@ 6:07 - 24min + 2 laps; A/B Grade@ 6:39 - 36min + 2 laps; C/D Grade@ 7:21 - 29min + 2 laps

Race Director: Michael Golding

Contact: Email: michael.golding@crimecommission.gov.au Ph 6161 3526


All racing is now $5 per event. Please ensure you have the correct fees.

Crit Marshals and Helpers needed

Helpers will be needed on the night. If you are racing you can still get there early or stay after your race to help out.

Important Information: Late Arrivals

It is a condition of our Insurance that all riders receive a referee’s briefing before the commencement of racing to ensure that they are aware of racing conditions.

All riders need to ensure that they arrive in sufficient time to sign-on and be briefed before the commencement of racing.

Thursday, 29th November: Track Racing

Where: Queanbeyan Track

When: 6:00 pm

Details: Warm up from 5:30 first race at 6pm. Scratch races, two lap handicap, derny races and Italian pursuits. Road and track bikes welcome

Sunday, 2nd December: Dalton Graded Scratch

Where: Dalton, Gravel Pit just outside town.

When: 9:00 am

Note the later start time to allow for travel.

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description: Dalton - Gunning - Boorowa Rd ABCD do 2 laps Dalton to Gunning 1st Dalton U Turn at Start area. EFG do 1 lap. Then all head west on Boorowa Rd to end of bitumen (3k) and ret to Dalton then north on Rugby Rd to end of bitumen (5k) and return to finish in Dalton.

Race Director: Steven Dean

Contact: Email: Steven.Dean@au.unisys.com Ph 6255 6110

Help Needed on Saturday: Steve will need Marshals and helpers at the finish line to run the race. Please contact him before the weekend if you can assist.


Criterium Race Report – 20th November

Tuesday had good conditions for racing with an easterly wind with over 130 participants.

G grade got underway on time thanks to the preparation of others including Henry Beaverstock, Dale Teddy and James Meredith. After a couple of laps the field was broken up into 3 groups with sprints to the finish. 1st Bruce Jones, 2nd Michael O’Malley and 3rd Janet Hanson.

A & B grade was a night of repeated attacks in the first half of the race making it interesting to watch. The pace was high and unfortunately a crash in B grade with about 15 minutes to go required the yellow flag to be used to control pace until the track was cleared. Luckily there were no serious injuries and thanks to our first aiders all were off the track within a few minutes and of course a few retirements. The race resumed with 6 minutes to go plus 2 laps and ended in tight finishes in both grades. A grade 1st Jeremy Gillmand-Wells, 2nd Graeme Albon and 3rd Michael Tolhurst. B grade 1st Michael McGurgan, 2nd Rohan Verco & 3rd Bryan Holloway.

C & D Grade was a had fought races with bunches staying together leading to sprint finishes after alternating cruising and surges throughout the race. Take care when finishing and turning off as we had a minor collision at low speed thankfully no injuries or damage.

C grade 1st Selwyn Snell, 2nd Ben Davis & 3rd Jason Kerr. D grade 1st Charles Black, 2nd Chris Kon & 3rd Richard Hedley.

E & F grade: E grade was a tightly contested race with several surges and the bunch mostly remained intact leading to a tight sprint finish. 1st Aaron Rocks, 2nd Lloyd Bennett & 3rd Mark Ridley. F grade broke up over the race into a few groups resulting in a clear winner with the final break and sprint away won by Ian Drayton, 2nd to Matt Malone and 3rd Rosemary Robinson. Again a near miss at the end reminding us to hold our lines and continue through well past the finish line before slowing down – please be aware of those around us.

And a big thank you to the race referee, Kim Malcolm.

Lookout Hill – Tracking Station – 25th November

45 Riders braved the heat to race in still conditions on the fully patched Tidbinbilla Rd. Still some holes left for A-D on the tracking station road. Grades ranged from 10 in B to 2 in G. John, the First Aider had another quiet day, the best kind.

It wasn't looking good for E grade, outnumbered 4:8 as F grade had taken 30s on the return from the short turn, about 7km in.

A grade worked the Officials over with a bunch finish, the remaining grades were much more friendly as the course had done its work, along with the ever increasing heat.

The race briefing proved important, clarifying the turn for the Point Hutt leg, as one rider found out too late to their cost.

Many thanks to the marshals, Barbara Bayliss, Bruce Jones, Dale Teddy, Tom Hartley, James Meredith and Henry Beaverstock who made the event run so smoothly.

Thanks to André Swenson for Race Refereeing.