8.3 August 19 Bleat

Post date: Aug 26, 2013 9:26:7 PM

Hello Vets,

In these week’s Bleat;

· ACTVets Members have their say on Road Safety

· Upcoming Events

· Racing this Week

· Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton.

ACTVets Members have their say on Road Safety

On Saturday night the ABC ran a news story about Cyclist safety on Canberra roads. The story was filmed at the Lookout Hill race. Bruce Jones, Angie Wren and James Jordan gave their personal view on safety issues.

Upcoming Events

Vikings MS Trivia Night –6 September

The Vikings Trivia night is support of MS will be compared by John and Chantal Fleming. Tables of 8-10 are available or they can make arrangements to create tables.

For tickets or further details, contact Errol Neish Ph 0412 265 933 or 62311 633

Hartley Lifecare Wheel-a-thon –21/22 September

Registrations at


Shoalhaven Gran Fondo –28/29 September

This is the website with all of the info www.granfondoshoalhaven.com.au

National Championships – 4/5/6 October

The Australian Veterans National Championships will be held in Geelong this year. Registration and other details can be found on the AVCC web site at: http://www.ausvetcycling.com/

Fitz’s Challenge – 27 October

Canberra's biggest and best-known long-distance one-day cyclo-sportive participation event on sealed rural roads in hilly terrain in the southwest of ACT.

Full details and registration at www.fitzs.com.au .


Saturday, 24th August – Uriarra Homestead Time Trial

Where: Uriarra Homestead.

When: 1:30pm

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

Start – short turn – top of crossing – Mt McDonald turn – short turn – top of crossing - Finish.

Race Director: Doug Widdup

Contact: Email widdup@homemail.com.au Ph 0430028253 or 6241 8665

Help Needed on Sunday: Doug will need 4 turn marshals and a couple of finish line helpers. Anyone who can assist please let Doug know before the weekend.


Tidbinbilla Graded Scratch – 17 Aug

The rain clouds had all been blown away by the time the 59 riders rolled to the start line for the ACT Vets 20th Anniversary race. That’s right 20 years of quick gear changes, flat tires and exhilarating down hill descents. 20 years of gels, lycra and jelly beans.

A, B and C were slated to do the longer course including the pothole minefield that is the tracking station road. One of the potholes on Discovery Drive is so big, it’s visible from the International Space Station. Apparently NASA have given it its own name like the ones on the Moon and they’re sending a mission down it next year. All grades helpfully suggested D grade do the long course as well, when it was put to the vote on the start line.

It was then Marshals, Medic, Timekeeper and “put the kettle on” so the race could get underway. The wind picked up as the G grade peloton got away first with some expectations of beating distant rain clouds. One by on the grades left the start line as the wind subsided. The Race Gods must have been smiling, as we didn’t get rained on…….much.

Thanks to the work of ever observant race Marshals a near catastrophe was narrowly avoided when the plentiful supply of 20th anniversary cakes were nearly blown off the table at the van. Such was the weather, a low flying mud cake alert and a 10 pack Tim Tam force wind warning should have been issued by the BOM.

Highlights of the race from where we stood and shivered were:

Angie Wren managed to drop a chain and then herself within site of the start line, but was then paced back on to the E grade bunch with some help.

Matt Kinch, David Rae and Tom Hartley breezed it in in A grade.

Marc Vroomans, Sean Ifland and Peter Marshal rode the wind in B grade.

Paul Frankom, Paul Brodie and Andrew Tully blew in and then blew out in C grade.

Mark Ridley, Des Brown and Richard Gorell were the riders of the storm in D grade.

Trent Wiseman, Gordon Hollands and Sally Thompson all got their second wind and won in E grade.

Frank O’Sulliva, Graham Hendrie and Ian Albery were all gone with the wind from the rest of the bunch in F Troop.

Cyclone Robyn Davies, Hurricane Lindsay Graham and Tornado Bernie Crowe in G grade won their race.

Many thanks to all the Marshalls: Henry, Liz, Belinda, Jamie, Paul, Bruce and Steven and also the manufactures of life sustaining Freddo Frogs.

Thanks to Lee Hopson for refereeing.