z12.2 December 9 Bleat

Post date: Dec 09, 2013 9:57:45 AM

Hello Vets,

In this week’s Bleat;

· ACT Veterans Birthday Celebration

· IMG Online Registration

· From the Desk of the Handicapper

· Reps for a Reason

· Committee for Next Year

· Upcoming Events

· Racing this Week

· Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton.

ACT Veterans Birthday Celebration

The 17th of December is getting close and the preparations are well underway for the 20th Anniversary Christmas Wheel Race.

To help us with catering, can you sure you complete the following survey;


Please Note: Racing will be for Members Only – there will be no Visitors accepted for the Wheel Racing.

IMG Online Registration

In order to register on-line for next year, you will need to use your IMG logon and password that you used last year.

If you have forgotten your password, there is a password recovery option. Enter your Email address and click Submit. Once a quick validation process has been completed, your new password will be emailed to you.

From the Desk of the Handicapper

The handicapper is keeping up a hectic pace;

All riders should check the RMS to confirm your grading and notify the Handicapper (handicapper@actvets.cc) of any discrepancies.

Reps for a Reason

Reps for a Reason is happening this Saturday morning from 8am. Brendan ‘Trekky’ Johnston is raising money for the Oncology Unit at the Canberra Hospital by attempting 38 reps of Black Mountain.

Donations can be made via the website www.repsforareason.net or on the day. Riders can join Brendan for a donation!

Committee for Next Year

The Annual General Meeting of the ACTVets will be held on the 24th February 2014. We are always looking for new committee members so if you are interested, please consider nominating for next year’s committee.

Upcoming Events

The Classic Adelaide Veterans Series – January 2014

· Sat 18th Road Race - Graded at The Range Willunga

· Mon 20th Time Trial - 5 yr age div – Woodchester to Langhorne Creek return

· Wed 22nd Hill Climb – 6 kms - 5 yr age div – bike track Mt Barker Rd Glen Osmond

· Thurs 23rd Criterium – Graded – Victoria Park Criterium track Adelaide city

Registration including an early-bird incentive will be on the www.savca.org.au website soon.


Tuesday, 10th December: Stromlo Criterium

Where: Stromlo Forrest Park

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

G Grade@ 5:45 - 13min + 2 laps; A/B Grade@ 6:07 - 40min + 2 laps; C/D Grade@ 6:53 - 30min + 2 laps; E/F Grade@ 7:31 - 25min + 2 laps

Race Director: Roger Northcote

Contact: Email: roger.northcote@customs.gov.au Ph 0467 736 580

Crit Marshals and Helpers needed

Roger will need a couple of helpers on the night. If you are racing you can still get there early or stay after your race to help out.

Important Information: Late Arrivals

It is a condition of our Insurance that all riders receive a referee’s briefing before the commencement of racing to ensure that they are aware of racing conditions.

All riders need to ensure that they arrive in sufficient time to sign-on and be briefed before the commencement of racing.

Thursday, 12th December: Track Racing

Where: Queanbeyan Track

When: 6:00 pm

Details: Christmas Wheel Race, please bring a plate of food

Sunday, 15th December – Cotter Time Trial

Where: Cotter Picnic Reserve

When: 9:00am

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

Time Trial - Mt McDonald

Race Director: Owain Tilley

Contact: Email owaintilley@hotmail.com Ph 0420526076

Help Needed on Sunday: Owain will need 2 turn marshals and a couple of finish line helpers. Anyone who can assist please let Owain know before the weekend.


Stromlo Criterium – 3rd December

Tuesday gave us a warm, some might say hot, night’s racing.

G Grade was first away and an early break by Chris Toohey was never matched by the field. James Meredith held on tight to take second place over a fast closing Jing Huang.

C Grade split about half way through their race being eventually won by Ian Langstaff, Jeff Irving and Claire Aubrey taking second and third place respectively.

D Grade saw the early formation of a six rider breakaway that managed to place itself between the two halves of C Grade. A fast sprint finish saw Andrew Tully take line honours over Sean Smith and Paul Morgan .

E Grade began as a bit of a royal review with Liz (Lowe) and Phi l (Coulton) working together to maintain a solid lead for the first half of the race. E Grade stalwarts did not allow this to continue for too long however and the race was won by Sherif Naklha closely followed by Kelvin Alley and Graham Tanton

F Grade was a small field that raced closely together giving away no advantage throughout- several riders used carefully held reserves for the tight finish Fergus Nelson piping Sue Frost ahead of Tanya Vanderputt.

A Grade saw Jonathan Drury was the first to seek advantage from the slight drop in temperature and wind. The race lead changed several times between Jonathan, Paul Angelatos and Mark Harris - and as the temperature continued to ease the pack increased the pace with Ian Downing taking first place ahead of Aaron Sedgeman, and Tom Hartley.

B Grade also benefitted from lower temperatures and wind - although not sufficiently to prevent A grade passing them about halfway through the race. Simon Milnes was pulled in from an early break with Stephen Alegria taking the sprint for first place with Marc Vroomans second and Bruce Goodspeed taking third.

Thanks to Michael Golding for Race Refereeing

Track Racing – 28th November

Track results can be found at;


Orroral Graded Scratch – 8th December

On a sunny morning, 42 riders decided to give the Orroral Graded Scratch race a go. The course was hilly with plenty of climbing, so if you were a climber then I guess this was the course for you. A,B,C & D grades completed two laps of the course (49 kms), while E,F & G grades completed one and a half laps (38kms).

In A grade which for once was the largest field of all the grades comprising of 11 riders, Ashley Carruthers took the win with a solid margin from Brendan Byatt and Gavin Drury who both finished in a close contest for second and third places. It was a different situation in B grade with Peter Young taking the win from a strong finishing Ross MacPherson, while Michael Carr managed to hold off Nick Boylan for third place. In C grade the riders were clearly separated with Simon Milnes in first place, second was David Stewart-Thomson while third was Hagen Ganhal. D grade presented a close contest for first place with Robert Quilty taking the win from Julian Valtas, in third place was Kevin Hennessy.

The E grade race was where the riders were clearly separated by suitable margins so no sprint finish. First was Andrew Douglas, second went to Ian Albrey and third was Bob Kent. F grade was an interesting race with half the field DNF, poor Phil Coulton had travelled only 100 metres from the start when he punctured and that was with an almost new tyre, so no luck there for Phil. First went to Frank O’Sullivan by a solid margin from Ian Morton. In G grade there were was just the one rider, Angelika Mauch, who rode solidly from start to finish.

Thanks go to marshals Henry Beaverstock, Don Mankewich, Howard Galloway, Steve Crispin, Graham Hendrie, Ross Robinson and James Meredith. Also a big thank you to the first aid officer (sports trainer) Stu Horyna who did a great job.

Thanks to Peter Klein