3.1 March 3 Bleat

Post date: Mar 04, 2014 12:39:38 AM

Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

· Annual General Meeting

· Some more overachievers have caught the handicapper’s eye

· Marshal Roster

· Marshal Swap Requests

· Bob Miller ride for Charity

· Ron Parello’s view from E Grade

· Racing this Week

· Race Report

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton.

Annual General Meeting

At the ACT Veterans Cycle Club Annual General Meeting this evening we farewelled outgoing president, Rob Diamond, who noted in his President’s Report that he has been President for 25% of the life of the club.

The Committee also farewells Pat Rooke and James Jordan who have stepped down after a number of years of service on the Committee.

The incoming committee for this year is;

· President: Alex O’Shea

· Vice-President: Jon Barnes

· Treasurer: Barbara Bayliss

· Secretary: Phil Coulton

· General Committee: Kim Malcolm, Graham Hendrie, Ben Davis, Paul Robey, Ian Morton and Robert Langridge.

Some more overachievers have caught the handicapper’s eye

2024--That's the year I have to win a B grade crit to match Mark Taylor's magnificent achievement last week of outfoxing young Parkes to take victory as a 60+ rider. Well done Mark "Chicago" Taylor.

Robert Langridge

Marshal Roster

As you are aware the club operates with a reliance on its members to contribute to the running of the various races. As such it is expected that each member should attend at least two races a year and assist by acting as a marshal. These duties are not particularly onerous and normally consist of manning a turn point or assisting at the start finish.

Unfortunately not all members have met this commitment in the past couple of years and it keeps falling on the same small number to provide assistance.

As such the Race Committee has decided to instigate a roster of members and assign them a race. Marshals assigned to the further NSW regional races can still request a payment to cover fuel costs if they undertake lead and follow car duties.

This roster will be found on the website under the Referees & Marshals Tab.

If you unable to make the date that you have been rostered the obligation is on you to find a replacement. It is recommended that you look at the roster and make your plans accordingly.

Should you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Marshal Swap Request

Chris Simpson can’t make the 22nd March. Could anyone willing to swap please contact him know at chris_simpson@hotmail.com.au.

Bob Miller ride for Charity

Dear fellow cyclists,

I am riding across Australia departing Perth on 22 March.

As well as a great adventure and cycling trip, I am raising awareness and funds for a charity work in Thailand. The BridgeWorks Foundation assist children and youth at risk of trafficking and exploitation by providing a safe haven, shelter, life skill training and education. You can find out more and follow my progress from my blog


Bob Miller

Ron Parello’s view from E Grade

Ron Parello has provided this link to Dropbox of video to the E Grade crits on Tuesday 25 February 2014.



Tuesday, 4th March: Stromlo Criterium

Where: Stromlo Forrest Park

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

G Grade@ 5:45 - 11min + 2 laps; A/B Grade@ 6:05 - 30min + 2 laps; C/D Grade@ 6:41 - 21min + 2 laps; E/F Grade@ 7:10 - 16min + 2 laps

Race Director: Steve Dean

Contact: Email: steve.dean2004@gmail.com Ph 0413 749 652

Assigned Marshals

The nominated marshal for this event is;

· Catherine Kelaher

· Selwyn Snell

Please confirm with the Race Director that you are available. If you unable to make the date that you have been rostered please find a replacement.

Thursday, 6th March: Track Racing

Where: Queanbeyan Track

When: 6:00 pm

Details: 3 – 4 short events per session with a mixture of scratch, handicap, sprinting and team events;

Sunday, 9th March – Lookout Hill Graded Scratch

Where: Lookout Hill

When: 9:00am

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

Lookout/Apollo 2 Lookout/Apollo map Course 2 Start, A, B, A, B, A, Finish (Lookout, Pt Hut, Short turn, Pt Hut , Short turn, Pt Hut, Lookout)

Race Director: Mick Donaldson

Contact: Email mdonaldson@netspeed.com.au Ph 0418 486 367 or 6241 8294

Assigned Marshals

The nominated marshals for this event are;

· David MORGAN

· Andrew TULLY




· Andrew REMELY

Please confirm with the Race Director that you are available. If you unable to make the date that you have been rostered please find a replacement.



Conditions were perfect for the 25 Feb crits. No wind for a change and warm conditions.

A grade stretched out with the usual attacks and attempts at breaks. It took 20 minutes of this before they eventually passed B grade as the elastic really started to stretch. It did all come back together for the finish with Steve Isbel taking it out from Mark Langman and Mark Gillett. 16 riders started this race.

B grade saw a great victory for Mark K Taylor. It was a big field of 19 riders so there was plenty of competition. Second place went to Jason Parkes who cried foul about not being able to catch his lead out man! Third was Peter Fisher Wiggins. There were some early breaks and attacks with the most likely looking coming from Peter Prammer who took advantage of A grade passing to re-pass them and attack. There was much hand waving from the ‘neutral’ bunch waiting behind A grade. The Referee wasn’t challenged though as he eventually came back to the field. The group had come back together for the final laps and the sprint finish.

D grade had the biggest field on the day with 25 riders. The group stretched but pretty much remained intact to the sprint finish. The race was won by Andrew Welsh from Kev Hennessy and Sean Fleming.

C grade had 16 starters who got underway under near perfect conditions. It didn’t take long for the first attacks to start with Duane Toohey getting a small gap before the bunch worked to bring him back. Several riders, (including Duane on 2 other occasions), tried their luck only to be caught by an attentive pack. With several minutes remaining Tim Minehan attacked and looked like he may have been able to hold on, however the group reformed in the closing stages and a bunch sprint would decide the outcome. The sprint opened up early with Ian Potts getting the points by 2 metres from Brad White and Tim Minehan.

14 riders competed for the E grade prizes. The winner was Brendan Chadwick from Mike Hayes and Phil Anderson.

F troop was small in number but there was plenty of fight for the big prize. Sue Frost proved strongest in the sprint to the line closely followed by Mick Donaldson and James Meredith.

G Grade was the biggest for some time with 10 starters including a special guest appearance from Rico Fitch who was returning after yet more surgeries to replace worn out bits. The race was won by Leon Horsnell from Bill Williams and Susan Belton.

Thanks to marshals Craig Kentwell, Paul Morgan, Phil Walker and Henry Beaverstock. We needed all hands as the finishes were close in most races. Thanks to riders for keeping the racing incident free. On the night there were exactly 100 riders..

Thanks to Rob Diamond for Race Directing.

Track Point Score

You can find season point scores at http://www.actvets.cc/track/tracknews

Uriarra Graded Scratch – 1st March

Unfortunately, due to a clash with the Canberra Rally, the event was cancelled.