8.4 August 25 Bleat

Post date: Aug 25, 2014 11:3:29 PM

Hello Vets,

In this week's Bleat;

• Twitter for late changes

• Marshalling Course

• Marshal Roster

• Fitz's Challenge – 26 October 2014

• RMH Canberra Challenge – 19-20 September 2014

• Racing this Week

• Race Report

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton.

ps A reminder that if your EMail address is not correct please go to the IMG system, login and update your contact details. Use this link. Same login details when you renewed your membership

Twitter for late changes

A reminder that the twitter tag ‘@ACTVets’ is used to advise of any late changes to the race program such as last weekend's change of venue.

If you don’t have a twitter account, go to https://twitter.com/actvets to check for status updates.

Marshalling Course

We are still looking for members to enrol for the road marshalling course. If you are willing to become a certified traffic controller for the clyb, could you please follow the procedure as follows;

Registration Process

Registrants are asked to provide the necessary details at the following registration platform. https://eventdesq.imgstg.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=main&EventDesqID=8523&OrgID=4426.

The coordinators will make direct contact with those on the registration list to offer places in the upcoming training as the dates become available.

Please ensure that all details are completed.

Registrants will be eligible for the training dates planned for September and October.

All registrants will be contacted once dates are determined. You will be able to once again, nominate your availability for the identified training dates. A similar process will be applied to determine the successful candidates and notify them of their successful nomination.

If you have any questions, please contact John Armstrong on 02 6248 7995.

Could those members intending to register for training also email the Secretary at Secretary@actvets.cc so the Club can keep track of those members who have applied.

Marshal Roster

Following is the Marshal Roster for the rest of the Winter season;

6-Sep - Dalton NSW: Beldina Wren, Dale Teddy, Russell Marsten, Michael Carr, Steve Crispin, Owain Tilley

13-Sep - The Iron Mike: Simon Milnes, Bill Frost, Lindsay Graham, Ben Davis, Phil Anderson, Bernie Crowe

20-Sep - Old Federal Hwy: Lee Hopson, Tom Hartley, Adrian Rollins, Christophe Barberet, Marc Vroomans, Rowan McMurray

27-Sep - Lookout Hill Age Time Trial: Simon Milnes, Kev Hennessy, Dale Teddy, James Meredith, David Gunther, Jan Koehler, Charles Nicoll

Fitz's Challenge – 26 October 2014

Canberra's biggest and best known long-distance one-day cyclo-sportive participation event on sealed rural roads in hilly terrain in the southwest of ACT.

Challenge yourself over 255 km, 205 km, 165 km, 105 km or 50 km – these are serious physical challenges to test your capabilities. (The 205 and 255 km rides qualify as Audax rides for those interested).

Conducted by Pedal Power ACT (www.pedalpower.org.au)

Full details and registration at www.fitzs.com.au

RMH Canberra Challenge – 19-20 September 2014

Help the local House and have a lot of fun by joining the Ronald McDonald House Canberra Challenge!

For cycling enthusiasts, the Challenge also includes a cycling component, which will finish alongside the Walk and Run event at Rond Terrace on Saturday 20 September.

• Take on the cycling challenge, comprising of almost 200 kilometres over 2 days.

• Tackle riding on some of the toughest roads in the ACT.

• Take on over 3000 metres of climbing.

• Be a part of the National Road Series, riding on the same roads as some of the best cyclists in Australia!

• Raise money for Ronald McDonald House Canberra!

Details at www.rmhc.org.au/canberra-challenge


Saturday, 30th August – Uriarra Club Championship

Where: Assemble at intersection Uriarra Rd and Brindabella Rd.

When: 1:30pm

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description: Age Division Scratch

M1, M2, M3, M4, M5: 47 kms Start at Homestead, Mt Macdonald, Short Turn, Top of Crossing, Mt Macdonald, Short Turn, Top of Crossing, Finish at Homestead

M6, M7, M8, M9, M10, W1, W2, W3, W4, W5: 40 kms Start at Homestead, Short Turn, Top of Crossing, Mt Macdonald, Short Turn, Top of Crossing, Finish at Homestead

Race Director: Ian Morton

Contact: Email Ian.Morton@optusnet.com.au Ph 0411112007

The nominated marshals for this event are;

• Dale Teddy

• Lee Hopson

• Kev Hennessy

• Terence Merrigan

• Daniel Grillo

• Ed Garnett

• Richard Gorrell

Please confirm with the Race Director that you are available. If you unable to make the date that you have been rostered please find a replacement.


Stromlo Points Race – 23rd August

At the start of racing on Saturday it was a little overcast but it did not take long before the sky cleared and it felt like spring. Unusually for Stromlo there was only a light breeze blowing – perfect conditions for racing. While the good weather showed up not many racers made it with A, C and F grades each having only two competitors each. The change in the event from a TT at Uriarra to a SFP points race may have played a part.

Eight A and B graders began the afternoon’s racing, starting together and riding as a bunch for the whole race. In A grade Marc Vroomans was too strong for Tom Hartley, winning all four intermediate sprints as well as the final sprint. The competition was closest in B grade with the first 4 places separated by a point each. Nick Boylan won, managing a 3rd and two seconds in the intermediates and 2nd place in the final sprint, while second place getter Jason Parkes won one intermediate and the final sprint. Both Robert Langridge and Mark Taylor finished on the same number of points but Robert took third on a count back having finished higher than Mark in the final sprint.

C and D grade were next to race, between them having 7 riders. In C grade Craig Kentwell won the 3 intermediate and final sprints finishing in front of Alain Arbaut. David Gunther was a clear winner in D grade gaining a first and 2 seconds in the intermediates and also winning the final sprint. Kev Hennessy and Terry Merrigan rode strongly with only a point separating them at the end for second and third place respectively.

E/F/G grades were last away on the day. E Grade with 10 starters, the biggest field of the day, raced as a group. Phil Anderson who is returning from injury, finished first in E grade winning the 3 intermediate sprints and crossing the line 2nd in the final sprint. Bruce Griffin also rode strongly with 2 second places in the intermediates and a win in the final sprint. The points were shared pretty evenly amongst the other E graders but a third place by Mick Donaldson in the final sprint was good enough for third overall.

F and G grades started together but it didn’t take long before both F graders Luke McGowan and James Meredith broke away. The racing between them was close but in the end Luke McGowan proved a little too strong for James. Ross Robinson was a clear winner in G grade crossing first in all the sprints. Stjepan Hirsler took second, separated from Bernie Crowe in third place by only a point.

Thanks to the Marshalls Liz Lowe, Steve Crispin and new member Warwick Wilson, who recently joined the club and is yet to race, as well as club stalwart Henry Beaverstock.

Thanks to Ian Shaw for race refereeing.