6.1 June 1 Bleat

Post date: Jun 01, 2015 10:26:30 AM

Hello Vets,

In this week's Bleat;

• Call for nominations for Accredited Traffic Controller (ATC) training

• From the Desk of the Handicapper

• Racing this Week

• Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

Call for nominations for Accredited Traffic Controller (ATC) training

A big thanks to members who have attended previous ATC training and who now volunteer as road marshals at our road races. As you know, we cannot run races on ACT roads without trained ATCs. But we are looking for more - so if you can do this training and perform duties at some ATCVCC races, we can continue to run events in the ACT. Thanks! Here are the details:

The next ACT training day will be;

DATE: Saturday 13 June

TIME: 9:00am – 4:00pm

LOCATION: Macarthur House, 12 Wattle St Lyneham

At the completion of this training, candidates will have the appropriate qualification, recognised by the ACT Government, to undertake Road Marshal Traffic Control Operations at cycling events.

For ease of administration, Capital Cycling will take on the registration process for this training.

Registration Process

Registrants are asked to provide the necessary details at the following registration platform. https://eventdesq.imgstg.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=main&EventDesqID=11984&OrgID=4426

Alex O'Shea


From the Desk of the Handicapper

The first Pierce's Creek race held last Saturday. It was a very tough course; 63km and over of 1,000m of climbing. Predictably, most grades split up. This type of double-out-and-back course is a result of trying to minimise turns to reduce the number of required authorised traffic controllers. It may seem like there are too many hilly courses on the program with The Apollo at Honeysuckle Creek coming up after the long weekend break, but after that we're back to flatter races. These are Gunning, Old Fed, a less undulating course at Uriarra Homestead, Dairy Flat, Dalton and Dog Trap. We then return for another double-out-and-back race from Lookout Hill.

The month of May was significant in the fact that not a race was cancelled and the weather was excellent!

The race approval process is running smoothly thanks to the tireless work of secretary Phill Coulton, and we have adequate numbers of marshals attending races. Recently, the only difficulty has been securing first aid attendants. If you are keen to get qualified or requalify, the club will cover all your costs.

Similar to previous handicappers, I'm going to have a try a revamping A grade with a mass elevation from B grade. This approach has been done on a small scale in the past but I'll try it with a larger number of riders. The following riders are now in A grade:

- Dom Rideaux

- Dave Mullens

- Reinhardt Mauch

- David Dickson

- Peter Young

- Michael Carr

- Patrick McNamara

- Mark Langman

- Toby Driscoll

- Paul Welsh

- Jason Parkes

- Ben McDuff

- Dom Romano

- Rob Langridge

- Michael McGurgan

The idea is to coax many A graders out of the closet with the knowledge that if they find the going too tough, there will others in the same boat, and they won't have to TT for majority of the race. So who's left in B grade? Well, not many but these riders can now have a race amongst themselves rather than DNFing or riding solo for the majority of the race. This is a trial of undetermined length. Please support it by coming out and having a ride. C graders are also welcome to put themselves up with the knowledge they won't have to suffer at the hands of the usual protagonists. Finally, given that not many people actually read the Bleat, if you personally know any of the riders on the list, please inform them of the change.

Rob Langridge


Saturday, 6th June: Queen's Birthday Long Weekend - No Racing

The nominated marshals for upcoming events are;

- Jun 13 @ Apollo Rd: Belinda Wren, Jan Koehler, Frank O'Sullivan

- Jun 20 @ Stromlo: Roger Wheatley, Craig Appaneal

- Jun 27 @ Gunning: Volunteers required

- Jul 04 @ Old Fed H'way: Sean Ifland, Paul Ledbrook, Bob Perkins, Ian Preston, Warwick Wilson


Pierce's Creek Graded Scratch – 30th May

About 50 riders christened the club’s new race route from Pierce’s Creek to just past the Tidbinbilla Reserve turn off. Most competitors agreed it was a tough but rewarding course, with plenty of hills to thin out the bunches.

Polly Templeton was a comfortable winner in G grade from Tony Weir and Jillian Wisbey. Barb Bayliss was the sole starter in F grade , proving that old adage that turning up is half the battle. It was a close run affair in the well supported E grade race. Jan Koehler just pipped Neil Davis and Kirsti McVay to the line.

The higher grades did two laps of the course, having twice the fun on the climbs. Steve Crispin was in top form, breaking away early to win A grade in emphatic fashion. Peter Marshall and Paul Atyeo fill out the podium. The biggest field of the day greeted the starter in B grade, with David Dickson riding strongly to take a clear cut win. The race for the minor placings was close, with Chris Short edging out Michael McGurgan in a tight sprint. The field was well strung out in C grade with Stuart Roseler showing a clean pair of heels to Alain Arbaut and Ian McVay. Alistair Nitz was another clear cut winner in D grade, with Des Brown and Tony Beasley rounding out the placings.

There was plenty of discussion about the new course at the post-race refreshments. Please send any feedback to the club committee.

Thanks again to Henry Beaverstock for their hardwork in ensuring a smoothly run event. Marshalls Andre Swenson, Richard Bourne, Dale Kleeman and Stephen Isbel did a great job ensuring the safety of the riders. And thanks to Bruce Jones for providing excellent chauffeur services to the race referee.

Mick Donaldson