4.1 April 4 Bleat

Post date: Apr 04, 2016 9:3:3 PM

Hello Vets,

In this week's Bleat;

• Marshals for Saturday

• Found - Sunglasses

• Interstate Events

• Racing this Week

• Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

Marshals for Saturday

At the moment we are short of sufficient Authorised Traffic Controllers for Saturday's race at Lookout Hill. Could any current ATCs who are able to assist please contact the Race Director Ian Morton (mortoni@optusnet.com.au).

Found - Sunglasses

A pair of sunglasses was left behind after Tuesday's Criterium at Stromlo. Graham Hendrie has them in the van.

Interstate Events

• Tolland Cycling Club Wagga Wagga

- 16-17 April

90 km Handicap and 71km/54km Graded Scratch. Details and registration https://eventdesq.imgstg.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=main&EventDesqID=16484&OrgID=20999. For more information contact Barry O'Hagan 02 69252404 or 043191803.

• Tour De Riverina interclub dates;

- 24 April - Geoff Dixon Memorial - Albury CC

For more information http://riverinainterclubracing.com/tdr/.


- 3-5 June

Now in its 8th year, the Battle of the Border cycling festival has grown to a notable multi-stage tour offering challenging racing in juniors, elite, masters and NRS divisions. The festival courses range from 50km to 150km, crossing challenging terrain and highlighting the beautifully unique volcanic caldera environment. Details at http://www.battleontheborder.com.au/.


Saturday, 9th April: Lookout Hill Time Trial - Age Standard

Where: Lookout Hill, Tidbinbilla Rd.

When: 1:30 pm.

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description: 20km TT course Lookout Hill - Tharwa Short Turn - Pt Hut Rd Intersection - Lookout Hill x 2

Race Director: Ian Morton

Contact: Email mortoni@optusnet.com.au Ph 0411 112 007

The nominated marshals for this event are;

• Jason McAvoy

The nominated marshals for upcoming events are;

- 16 Apr @ Uriarra: Lindsay Graham, Reinhard Mauch


Stromlo Criterium – 29th March

We ran the last Tuesday evening criterium race of the season last Tuesday under heavy leaden skies. The Met Bureau has predicted a 90% chance of rain for the day, but not a drop fell all day - would it hold off for the evening?

A good crown of Vets members thought so - and they were right; not a drop of rain, nor wind for that matter, but seriously fading light right on 7.00pm for the final laps of the last race. We had good size bunches across all grades - OK we had only two in F and three in G - but A through F had a good turn-up of very keen riders.

We ran the events in staggered starts - B with D, then E, F & G on the track together, then A with C. I think we have hit a winner with this format, as all bunch overtaking manoeuvres were crisp and clean and a good separation for the final sprint was achieved. Surely a format to take into next season?

Most of the bunches stayed together, the exception being A where the Quan 'boys' tried the usual early breakaways with the rest trying to frustrate the bridge across - but to no avail as other riders made it across, briefly trying to work together to stay away, again to no avail as the bunch subsumed the breakaways. The tighter bunches in all grades made for furious, but safe, sprinting up hill on the final lap - even our G graders, where we couldn't separate Heather and Paul on the line (OK, we were a bit distracted). Stu, our sports trainer was kept busy chasing the roos from the bottom of the course - a great service, for sure.

Here are the results for the night:

A - 1st Ben Morrison, 2nd Paul Connor, 3rd Peter Kitchen

B - 1st Mark Terracini, 2nd Robert Langridge, 3rd Ben McDuff

C - 1st Benjamin Vagnarelli, 2nd James Messervy (Visitor), 3rd Martin Horwood

D - 1st Seymour Savell-Boss, 2nd Andrew McRae, 3rd David Gunther

E - 1st Ian Barrass, 2nd Alex Sommariva, 3rd Lloyd Bennett

F - 1st William Frost, 2nd David McGuinne

G - 1st Paul Robey, 2nd Heather Sommariva, 3rd Bruce Jones

Thanks to Leon Horsell for marshalling and various club members, including the recovering-well-from-injuries duo of Ian McVey and Nick Boylan also helping with the marshalling and time-keeping.

Alex O'Shea


The 2015-16 Track Season concluded on Wednesday 31 March with a final, combined Italian Pursuit, trophy presentation and small celebration to mark the end of an excellent racing season. ACTVCC President, Alex O’Shea attended the final session to thank the organisers and hand out trophies.

The track season saw 41 riders participating in one or more track sessions. Overall, the attendance was marginally better than last year. However, it seemed that the enjoyment level was the highest ever. This season was the second at the refurbished Bundadome. The high-banked, Bundadome track is more challenging and enjoyable than Queanbeyan Park and the track facilities are much better.

The track season was virtually injury free. We had one minor incident with two riders falling at low speed. Fortunately, they both escaped with slight abrasions and were able to continue racing during the session. The standard of riding was high and most of the regular riders improved considerably over the season. The most improved rider was Peta Brill, who commenced the season in B grade and went on to become one of the front runners in A grade. Peta was one of seven female riders who competed at track, with distinction. We also had two visually impaired riders (Lindy Hou and John Barlow) who competed with tandem partners (Kerry Knowler & Cameron Ermert) and inspired all by seeking and giving no quarter.

There were around 80 races over the track season with a variety of formats including scratch races, handicaps, pursuits, match races and time trials. All of the races contributed to an overall Track Championship. The gold medal for this championship was won by Michael Langdon, for the second year in a row. Michael finished the season in great form and impressed everyone with his spirited riding and all round good humour. The silver and bronze medals for the track championship were won by Alec Millett and Steve Hirsler respectively. Alec was another rider who markedly improved after promotion to A grade. Steve was a stalwart of B grade and always up the front.

Towards the end of the season, we ran a four-event Omnium Championship that was taken out by Ross Scutts, another much improved rider and also a stalwart of B grade.

This summary would not be complete without acknowledging all the parties who contributed to a great track season. This includes the club committee who book the venue, support the track racing discipline and publish results, the first aiders, all those who assisted in myriad ways over the season and, finally, the riders who invariably displayed the best competitive spirit and camaraderie.

Final Track Championship Point Scores:

Michael Langdon (315), Alec Millett (270), Steve Hirsler (245) Ross Scutts (232), Steve Jones (229), John-Paul DeSousa (213), Phil Anderson (175).

Final Omnium Championship Point Scores:

Ross Scutts (20), Alec Millett (16), Chris Thompson (12), Michael Langdon (12), John-Paul De Sousa (10), Steve Hirsler (10), Bruce Griffin (8), Ben Davis (8), Phil Anderson (8).

Graeme O'Neill