5.4 May 22 Bleat

Post date: May 22, 2017 11:5:18 AM

Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

• From the Desk of the Treasurer

• Racing this Week

• Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

From the Desk of the Treasurer

Dear Members,

For those that had registered for the Gunning 2 Day event, we are working on arranging refunds for your entry fee. The process is a bit clunky and we are working with SportsTG to ensure that refunds are processed as soon as possible.

Appreciate your patience while we work through this.


Kirsti McVay


ACT Veterans Cycling Club.


Saturday, 27th May: Stromlo Forest Park Criterium - Points Race

Where: Stromlo Forest Park Criterium track.

When: 1:30 pm.

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

Points Race

Grade start times to be advised.

Race Director: Roger Northcote

Contact: Email: roger.northcote@border.gov.au Ph 0467736580

Nominated Marshals: Ben Davis

Upcoming Marshall Roster

The nominated marshals for upcoming events are;

- Jun 3 @ Old Federal Highway: Chris Kon, Seymour Saville-boss, Kirsty Cummin, Nicholas Stewart

- Jun 17 @ Pierces Creek: Ben Morrison, John Lowe

- Jun 24 @ Honeysuckle Creek: Michael Foulds, Chris Nolan, Dale Kleeman (ATC)

- Jul 1 @ Stromlo: David Witteveen


Dog Trap Rd Secret Handicap - Cole Family Trophy – 20th May

If it's Dog Trap Rd, it must be a secret handicap, and this one was to contest the Cole Family trophy. All week the weather forecast was weighing heavily on my mind as I didn't want to have prepared everything only to get to the start and be greeted by pouring rain and few brave riders doing the in-car warm-up. Miraculously, the weather cleared Saturday morning and we had close to perfect conditions. I described the wind as a mere zephyr, while some competitors likened it to a cyclone. Numbers were probably down because some might have made other commitments based on the forecast. One committee member, however, when given the opportunity to race rather than marshal declared he was going to go shopping with his partner instead!

Mike Hayes in the lead car with Barry Cole led out for riders for the mad dash for the top corner. At the half way point on the first lap the race had split into three main groups with the A/B bunch numbering about nine riders. I thought this bunch would gradually be whittled down but in the end it was a sizeable group of six that made the mad dash for the line. Marc Vroomans once again showed his sprinting finesse to claim fastest time in 1:09:39, while Seymour Savell-Boss was the first of the B graders just behind. As I'd penalised grades B to D based on recent Dog Trap results, it was E grade that predictably won handicap honours because of A grade's inability to shake off the B grade leeches. First on handicap was James Curran followed by Gerald Van Ewyk and Seymour. First for the women was Kirsti McVay, then Liz Lowe and Lindy Hou on the back of the tandem.

Many thanks to the other marshals: Adam Potts (top turn), Andrew Murrell (bottom turn), Mick Hanbury (trail car) Tes McLachlan (traffic marshal, chute and a stellar marshalling debut!), Bruce Jones (road sweeper and chute) and Clinton Porteous (Puncture, then finish judge; so he effectively paid $5 to help out) Also, I'd like a to make a special mention to welcome back tandem stoker John Barlow who's been pilotless since Cameron left Canberra. Tony Beasley has taken on the pilot duties and despite missing the Long Gully Road turn off managed to find the start and get himself and John around the course without any more directional errors.

The Medal Presentation featuring Club President, Dougal Torrence and long time club stalwart, Barry Cole

The Women's winners, Liz Lowe (2nd), Kirsti McVey (1st), Lindy Hou (3rd)

The Men's winners, James Curran (1st), Seymour Savell-Boss (3rd), Gerald Van Ewyk (2nd)

Rob Langridge