z11.1 November 6 Bleat

Post date: Nov 06, 2017 12:35:27 AM

Hello Vets,

In the Bleat this week;

• SportsMed Course

• From the Desk of the Handicapper

• Call for ATC’s for last 2 road races in 2017

• Racing this Week

• Race Reports

Please send me your contributions at: TheBleat@actvets.cc

Ian Morton

SportsMed Course

There is a Sports Med training course on 18th & 19th November, 8:30am-5:00pm, $285. Here’s the link: https://sma.jobreadyrto.com.au/terminal/online_book_course/12238.

The club will pay the fee, in return for which qualified members will be expected to be available in a non-racing capacity on the rare occasion that Sports Med can’t provide a trainer.

Ian McVay


From the desk of the handicapper

Quite a few members completed in one of the Fitz's races on the Sunday before last. With the popularity of gran fondos rising, the classic 160km distance now attracts nearly 400 riders. Special mentions go to Robin Mules who completed the 255km Epic to finish 3rd in 8:41, Ross Scutts who did the same distance but was on the road for nearly 13 hours (Truly epic!) and Bernie Crowe who finished 19th in the 50km race. See the full results here.

On Saturday the ACT hill climb champs were held at Mt Majura. According to the results, Steve Crispin rode even faster than those in the elite and U23 category! Well done Steve.

This week's Promotions;

- Anthony Evans C to B

- David Rae C to B

Rob Langridge

Call for ATC’s for last 2 road races in 2017

Uriarra 12/11

3 x ATC’s required

Mt MacDonald TT- 3rd December

2 x ATC’s required.

A lot of the ATC’s who re-certified in the last few months will be aware of the mentor sign-off to be completed before you can renew your licence. We will have a mentor available at both of these road races, so it is a great opportunity to complete the renewal process for your ATC licence. And all ATC’s are now eligible for a $50 payment for volunteering at each race. If you are available, please let me know bdavis@internode.on.net.

Ben Davis


Tuesday, 7th November: Stromlo Criterium

Note: The new Race Fee of $10 per event is in effect.

Where: Stromlo Forest Park

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

A/C 5:50 A 38m+2, C 33m+2

B/D 6:35 B 38m+2, D 33m+2

E/F/G 7:15 25m+2

Race Director: Robert Langridge

Contact: Email: langridge@netspeed.com.au Ph 0450400658

Marshal: Heath Chester

Wednesday, 8th November: Track Racing

The Program for Wednesday is as follows:

5.30pm – 6.00pm: Warm-up and free practice;

6.00pm – 6.20pm: 8-lap graded scratch race;

6.20pm – 6.50pm: 2-Lap SS Time Trial;

6.50pm – 7.10pm: Italian Pursuit.

Sunday, 12th November: Uriarra Homestead Graded Scratch

Note: The new Race Fee of $10 per event is in effect.

Where: Uriarra Homestead, Uriarra Rd and Brindabella Rd intersection.

When: 9:00 am.

Sign on: 15 mins before scheduled start time wearing your registered number.

Race Description:

Start at Uriarra Homestead riding towards Condor Creek turn point, return to the top of the crossing turn point and back to the start. All grades complete two laps approx. 47 km.

Race Director: tba Contact: Email: tba Ph tba

Marshals: Sue Duckett, John Hermes.

Upcoming Marshall Roster

The nominated marshals for upcoming events are;

Date: Event - Marshals

14-11-2017: Stromlo FP - Andrew McRae

19-11-2017: Old Fededral Highway - Don De Smet, Sean Fleming, Radi Kovacevic, Dale Dummett, Robert Mackey

21-11-2017: Stromlo FP - Brendan Lakey

26-11-2017: Dairy Road - Rico Fitch

28-11-2017: Stromlo FP - Peter Kitchen

3-12-2017: Cotter/Mt MacDonald - Michael Fawke

5-12-2017: Stromlo FP - Terence Merrigan

10-12-2017: Dairy Road - David Dickson

12-12-2017: Stromlo FP - Duane Toohey

17-12-2017: Dairy Road - Matthew Haddock

19-12-2017: Stromlo FP - Ben Davis


Narrabundah Track Racing – 1st November

The fourth Track Racing session for 2017-18 attracted a good roll up of 20 riders. The evening was warm with a breeze creating a headwind in the back straight. The wind moderated early in the racing session providing perfect conditions for racing.

The 8-lap A grade scratch had lots of action. Dougal Torrance shot out of the blocks to take the lead for the initial laps with Paul Kennedy and Craig Kentwell in pursuit. Craig and Dougal backed off on lap 2 forcing Paul to back off on the following lap or burn out on the front. Michael Langdon attacked on lap 4 and Paul Kennedy again pursued. This attack soon petered out. On lap 6, the tandem pilots Kerry Knowler and Lindy Hou tried their luck, but could not make a decisive move. Then a lap later, Michael Langdon put in the decisive attack pursued by Ben Robey, Ed Garnett Hamish Anderson and a trailing bunch. Michael crossed the line first, followed by Ben Robey. Paul Kennedy emerged from the following bunch to take third place. Hamish Anderson did well to take fifth place in his first tryout with A grade.

The 8-Lap B grade scratch race progressed with the bunch setting a solid pace. The pack dropped a trailing rider mid race and riders began to jockey for position as the final laps approached. Phil Anderson attacked early in a great move that saw him establish a decisive lead. Tony Beasley, Steve Hirsler, Ross Scutts and Sue Powell pursued in earnest, but could not close the gap until the last 200 metres when Tony Beasley drew almost level with Phil. Phil kept on the power to just hold out Tony, with Steve Hirsler in third place.

The next event was a 4-lap handicap. The format for these races was changed to two heats each with a mixture of A and B grade riders. This gave a greater spread in handicap than the alternative graded handicap. Most riders thought the change provided more interesting and uncertain racing. In both handicap heats the back markers pursued relentlessly. However, in Heat 2 the tandem pilots Kerry Knowler and Lindy Hou set a torrid pace from a mid mark to hold out Paul Kennedy and Hamish Anderson who dead heated for second place. In Heat 1, Michael Langdon overcame the bunch from the scratch mark. Steve Dean and Ed Garnett took second and third respectively in this heat.

The handicap event was followed by a graded, 6-lap Win & Out event. In this event, the lead rider on each successive lap drops out of the race. Placing corresponds to the order of drop-out. Most riders in this event succeeded via an early attack. In A grade, the finishing order was Michael Langdon, Ed Garnett, Ben Robey. In B grade, the order was Hamish Anderson, Steve Hirsler, Sue Powell.

The track session closed with the usual all-in, Italian pursuit. The seven riders on each team generally executed rider changes quite well. However, Team 2 had a slight hiccup with a small gap opening mid race. This was enough to concede the victory to Team 1. Ed Garnett put in a desperate lap to launch Paul Kennedy into the final lap for Team 2. However, Team 1 had John Paul De Sousa and Michael Langdon and they conceded no ground in giving Team 1 the win.

Major place getters were as follows:

8-Lap Scratch: (A Grade): Michael Langdon, Ben Robey, Paul Kennedy (B Grade) Phil Anderson, Tony Beasley, Steve Hirsler.

4-Lap Handicap: (Heat 1): Michael Langdon, Steve Dean, Ed Garnett (Heat 2) Kerry Knowler & Lindy Hou, Hamish Anderson, Paul Kennedy.

6-Lap Miss & Out: (A Grade): Michael Langdon, Ed Garnett, Ben Robey (B Grade) Hamish Anderson, Steve Hirsler,.Sue Powell.

Combined Italian Pursuit: Winner Team 1 (Michael Langdon, John Paul De Sousa, Craig Kentwell, Graeme O'Neill, Ross Scutts, Hamish Anderson, Phil Anderson).

Season Point Score Update:

Hamish Anderson (74), Michael Langdon (62), Paul Kennedy (56), John Paul DeSousa (53), Phil Anderson (51), Tony Beasley (49), Ross Scutts (47), Steve Hirsler (47), Ed Garnett (46).

Graeme O'Neill